IEEE Latin-American Conference on Communications
11-13 November 2019 // Salvador, Brazil

Keynote Speakers

Prof. Arun Venkataramani

Prof. Arun Venkataramani currently is a Professor in the College of Information and Computer Sciences at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. He completed his Ph.D. in Computer Sciences at the University of Texas at Austin in 2004 and subsequently joined UMass Amherst by way of a Visiting Faculty appointment at the University of Washington. He received his bachelor’s degree in Computer Science and Engineering at IIT Bombay in 1999. His research interests are in networked and distributed systems and his current research focuses on mobile and wireless systems, distributed systems, Internet architecture, and network security. He is a recipient of an NSF CAREER award and his work has received several best paper awards including USENIX NSDI 2007, USENIX NSD 2008, and ACM Sigcomm CoNEXT 2009.

Prof. Joel J. P. C. Rodrigues

Joel J. P. C. Rodrigues [S’01, M’06, SM’06] is a professor at the Federal University of Piauí, Brazil; and senior researcher at the Instituto de Telecomunicações, Portugal. Prof. Rodrigues is the leader of the Internet of Things research group (CNPq), Director for Conference Development – IEEE ComSoc Board of Governors, IEEE Distinguished Lecturer, Technical Activities Committee Chair of the IEEE ComSoc Latin America Region Board, the President of the scientific council at ParkUrbis – Covilhã Science and Technology Park, the Past-Chair of the IEEE ComSoc Technical Committee on eHealth, the Past-chair of the IEEE ComSoc Technical Committee on Communications Software, Steering Committee member of the IEEE Life Sciences Technical Community and Publications co-Chair, and Member Representative of the IEEE Communications Society on the IEEE Biometrics Council. He is the editor-in-chief of the International Journal on E-Health and Medical Communications and editorial board member of several high-reputed journals. He has been general chair and TPC Chair of many international conferences, including IEEE ICC, IEEE GLOBECOM, IEEE HEALTHCOM, and IEEE LatinCom. He has authored or coauthored over 780 papers in refereed international journals and conferences, 3 books, 2 patents, and 1 ITU-T Recommendation. He had been awarded several Outstanding Leadership and Outstanding Service Awards by IEEE Communications Society and several best papers awards. Prof. Rodrigues is a member of the Internet Society, and a senior member ACM and IEEE.

Prof. Nelson Luis Saldanha da Fonseca

Prof. Nelson Fonseca

received his Electrical Engineer (1984) and MSc in Computer Science (1987) degrees from The Pontificial Catholic University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, and the MSc (1993) and Ph.D. (1994) degrees in Computer Engineering from The University of Southern California. He receives the title of “Livre Docente” in Computer Networks from the State University of Campinas in 1999. He is a Full Professor at Institute of Computing of The State University of Campinas, Campinas – Brazil. He has been affiliated to the Institute of Computing since 1995. He served as Head of the Computer Systems Department, and Associate Chair for Graduate Studies. He lectured at Department of Informatics and Telecommunications, University of Trento, University of Pisa and University of Basque Country. He held Lecturer positions at Pontificial Catholic University (1985 – 1987) and worked in the Computer Communications group at IBM Rio Scientific Center (1989). He is an IEEE Communications Society Distinguished Lecturer. He received the IEEE Communications Society Joseph LoCicero Award for Exemplary Service to Publications, the IEEE Communications Society Latin America Region Distinguished Service Award, the Medal of the Chancellor of the University of Pisa (2007), the 2003 State University of Campinas Zeferino Vaz award for academic productivity in Computer Science, the Elsevier Computer Network Journal Editor of Year 2001 award

Currently, he is Vice President Publications of the IEEE Communications Society. He served as the IEEE ComSoc Director for Conference Development, Vice President for Member Relations and as elected Member at Large of the IEEE ComSoc Board of Governors. He served as IEEE ComSoc Director for Latin America (2008-2009), Director for On-Line Services (2002-2003), and Chair of the IEEE ComSoC Communications Systems Integration and Modeling Technical Committee (2005-2007), and Chair of IEEE Comsoc Technical Committee on Multimedia Communications (2006-2008). He is Senior Technical Editor for the IEEE Communications Surveys and Tutorials and Senior Technical Editor for the IEEE Communications Magazine.

Prof. Pablo Serrano Yáñez-Mingot

Prof. Pablo Serrano got his Telecommunication Engineering degree and his Ph.D. from UC3M in 2002 and 2006, respectively. He has been with the Telematics Department of UC3M since 2002, where he currently holds the position of Associate Professor. He has over 80 scientific papers in peer-reviewed international journal and top conferences, including IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, IEEE INFOCOM, ACM CoNEXT, IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing. He has served on the TPC of many conferences (IEEE INFOCOM, IEEE Globecom) and performed editorial activities for IEEE Comm. Letters and Elsevier Computer Networks.

His work and that from his students has been awarded several times (best paper awards, best Ph.D. Theses), and has been cited more than 2 000 times, has an H-index of 24. He has held visiting positions at Univ. Massachusetts Amherst, Univ. of Edinburgh, Trinity College Dublin and Telefónica R+D Barcelona, all of them partly funded or completely supported through competitive calls (José Castillejo, Salvador de Madariaga). He has participated in various research projects (national and European), acting as Principal Investigator of the recent H2020 Flex5Gware and Tigre5-CM projects.

His research interests lie in the analysis of wireless networks and the design of network protocols and systems. He recently enjoys carrying out experimental performance evaluation of protocols and communication systems. He is a Senior Member of the IEEE.